Route 66 News

Illinois Route 66 Hall of Fame induction from 1991

A few days ago, a YouTube account called hudson501 posted a video from the 1990s of the long-gone Coral Court Motel in St. Louis and the now-closed Tri-County Truck Stop in Villa Ridge, Mo.

Today, the account-holder uploaded a video of the induction of the Illinois Route 66 Hall of Fame on June 8, 1991. The event occurred at the Dixie Trucker’s Home in McLean; it was only the second Hall of Fame ceremony.

Inductees were the family of Ed Waldmire of the Cozy Dog Drive-In in Springfield,┬áMetha Jensen of Dwight, who co-owned a Phillips 66 station and Paulsen’s Deluxe Motel, and Cotton McNabney of Cotton’s Village Inn of Bloomington.

You’ll also see author and Illinois Route 66 Association co-founder Tom Teague, Pig Hip restaurant owner Ernie Edwards, and Route 66 artist Bob Waldmire.