Kingman Route 66 Walk of Fame inductees announced

Four inductees for the Route 66 Walk of Fame in Kingman, Arizona, during the Best of the West on Route 66 Festival on Sept. 25-27 recently were announced.

The inductees also will be recognized as King of the Road, an honorary position that includes being as grand marshal of the festival’s parade.

The inductees are:

Zdnek and Eva Jurasek — The Juraseks are founders of the Czech Route 66 Association and lead tours on Route 66. Zdnek also is a producer of two Route 66 documentaries and is lending support for the first European Route 66 Festival in Germany in July 2016.

Dries and Marion Bessels — They were instrumental in establishing the Dutch Route 66 Association and give assistance for the Netherlands-based U.S.Bikers Route 66 tours, host open-house events for Route 66 personalities, provide travel information and are assisting in the European Route 66 Festival.

Dale and Kristi-Anne Butel — The Butels, owners of Route 66 Tours in Brisbane, Australia, provide Route 66 tours and are strong supporters of the Route 66 community.

Jerry McClanahan — McClanahan is  an acclaimed Route 66 artist, a researcher of old Route 66 alignments and author of the popular “EZ 66 Guide for Travelers,”

The Walk of Fame, conceived to honor those who played a role in transforming Route 66 into an icon, was unveiled during the Route 66 International Festival in Kingman in 2014.

4 thoughts on “Kingman Route 66 Walk of Fame inductees announced

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.